Senior Researchers

Ana Paula Serro

  • Assistant Professor at DEQ - IST

  • Researcher at CQE - IST and at CiiEM - IUEM

Benilde Saramago

  • Associate Professor at DEQ - IST

  • Researcher at CQE - IST

Célio Pina

  • Associate Professor at IPS

  • Researcher at IPS - CDP2T and at CeFEMA - IST.

Helena Barroso

  • Associate Professor at IUEM

  • Researcher at CiiEM - IUEM.

Helena Filipe

  • Medical Doctor in the field of ophtalmology at Hospital das Forças Armadas/PL-EMGFA

  • Researcher at CiiEM - IUEM

Isabel Barahona

  • Associate Professor at IUEM

  • Researcher at CiiEM - IUEM

José Mata

  • Adjunct Professor at Academia Militar (Retired)

  • Researcher at CQE - IST

Madalena Salema Oom

  • Associate Professor at IUEM

  • Researcher at CiiEM - IST

Rogério Colaço

  • Full Professor at DEM - IST

  • Researcher at IDMEC - IST and at CQE - IST


Post-Doc Researcher

Diana Silva
  • PhD in Advanced Materials and Processing (IST).


  • Master degree in Bioengineering and Nanosystems (IST).

  • Bachelor degree in Bioengineering - Biomedical Field (IPP).

PhD Students

Ana Catarina Branco
  • PhD thesis entitledAdditive manufacturing of zirconia and nanostructured alumina/zirconia denthal prosthesis.

  • Master Degree in Bioengineering and Nanosystems (IST)

  • Bachelor Degree in Materials Engineering (IST)

Nadia Toffoletto
  • PhD thesis entitledIntraocular lenses with prophylactic action against pseudophakic cystoid macular edema.

  • Bachelor Degree in Biomedical Engineering (Politecnico di Milano)

Andreia Sofia Oliveira
  • PhD thesis entitledCartilage like-materials with controlled drug release ability for hip and knee prosthesis application.

  • Master Degree in Biomedical Engineering (IST)

  • Bachelor Degree in Biomedical Sciences (UBI)

Nuno Ribeiro
  • PhD thesis entitledDevelopment of a new calcium phosphate bone cement with improved osteointegration properties and prophylactic action.

Master students

  • Raquel Veloso

  • Francisco Santos


  • Diana Nobre​​

  • Leonor Garcia

  • Maria João Godinho

  • Tomás Pires